European Higher Education Area

The European Higher Education Area ( EHEA ) refers to the set of countries Europeans who have decided to harmonize the different systems of higher education national, in order to be compatible, comparable and consistent. It was released on the tenth anniversary of theBologna Process in 2010, during the Ministerial Conference in Budapest-Vienna.


The main objective of the Bologna Process since its inception in 1999, was to create the European Higher Education Area. Thus, between 1999 and 2010, all countries party to the Bologna Process have striven for his creation, which would become reality with the Budapest-Vienna Declaration on 12 March 2010. [ 2 ]


The strategic objectives of the European Higher Education Area focus:

  • The implementation of an easily understandable and comparable academic degree system.
  • The adoption of a system of accumulation and transfer of credits to promote mobility (credits ECTS ).
  • Promoting European cooperation in quality assurance and development of comparable criteria and methodologies.
  • In the push to mobility of students, teachers and administrative staff of universities and other European institutions of higher education ( Erasmus ).
  • In promoting the European dimension in higher education as a necessary condition for achieving the EHEA objectives.

In addition, it was created the diploma supplement is a personal document of higher education students, which provides information on the degree, by a description of its nature, level, context and content. The purpose of the supplement is to increase the transparency of the different degrees taught in Europe and facilitate the academic and professional recognition by the institutions.

Member States

Currently, the European Higher Education Area is composed of 48 member countries, including all 28 Member States of the European Union , which are as follows: [ 3 ]

  • Albania
  • Germany
  • andorra
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belgium
  • Belarus
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Kazakhstan
  • Cyprus
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldavia
  • Montenegro
  • Norway
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • United Kingdom
  • Czech Republic
  • Republic of Macedonia
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • Vatican

The only members of the Council of Europe which did not join the EHEA were Monaco and San Marino . Other countries wanted to join but were not accepted, including Israel , Kyrgyzstan , Kosovoand Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus .


  1. Jump up“A bit of history” . New University of Lisbon . Retrieved November 12, 2014 .
  2. Jump up“European Space Launch Higher Education 2010” . University of Coimbra . May 17, 2010 . Retrieved November 12, 2014 .
  3. Jump up“Bologna Process: European Space establishment of Higher Education” . . Retrieved November 12, 2014 .