University of the French West Indies and Guiana

The University of the French West Indies (Université des Antilles) was a French university, based in the French West Indies. It was under the Academy of French Guiana.

The University had 3 campuses:

  • two in Guadeloupe: Fouillole (Pointe-à-Pitre) and Saint-Claude,
  • one in Martinique: Schœlcher (while there is also the campus of the IUFM in Fort-de-France and the medical campus (CHRU, a regional university hospital) of La Meynard in Le Lamentin).

In a process that was completed on 1 January 2015, the university was separated into two distinct institutions based on its constituent parts in French Guiana and the Lesser Antilles, respectively.